Skip to Content

FAQ: Entrepreneur Mentoring Program

FAQ MENTEES

What can mentoring do for me as an entrepreneur?

Mentors are a source of guidance and motivation. They share their own entrepreneurial experience and work closely with mentees to help them sharpen key reflexes, including:

  • Reasoning and analytical skills: The ability to develop a 360-degree view of the impacts and issues at stake in a given scenario
  • Audacity: The “chutzpah” to assess and take on greater and greater challenges and a reasonable level of risk to turn your ideas into action, to strengthen your self-confidence and to push beyond your own limits
  • Critical thinking: Tapping into your “inner voice”
  • Resilience: Having what it takes to bounce back – and learn – from setbacks
  • Stress management: An outlet for openly expressing your fears and doubts so they don’t take over and a means of alleviating the feeling of being alone
  • Networking savvy: Understanding the complementary resources and necessities for entrepreneurial success.

Will I be able to directly leverage my mentor’s network of contacts?

No. Networking isn’t part of the Réseau M mentorship program per se because it can create a sense of accountability between the mentor and mentee with regard to the referral or proposed referral. The result can be a real or perceived conflict of interest.

Can mentors and mentees share their client lists?

No. This could create a conflict of interest. A code of ethics has been developed for mentor and mentee conduct to prevent such situations from occurring.

 

Why should I get a mentor if there’s nothing wrong with my business? If I need to talk to someone, I can just make an appointment with a therapist.

Actually, the best time to improve your business is when things are going well. If you wait until there’s a problem, it’s often too late to fix it or ask for help – and most experts act in a consulting capacity. Sure, you can see a therapist, but Réseau M offers you an opportunity to talk to someone outside your usual circle who is not a friend, family member, employee or subcontractor – a volunteer who is completely impartial and who has been right where you are now. You can “talk shop” and take advantage of their insights to become a better entrepreneur.

Are the program fees eligible as a training expense under provincial law (i.e., the 1% training obligation)?

No. Mentoring is a way for entrepreneurs to share information and experience. It is not a course or a workshop. Mentors are not teachers and do not use a set curriculum. They adapt their services to suit you and your specific needs. That said, Réseau M regularly organizes activities for members of the mentorship community (awareness, professional development, etc.) that do meet Quebec training requirements.

If my mentor works in a field other than mine, how can they help me?

Your mentor can listen to you and ask key questions to help shed light on your situation, no matter what sectors you both operate in. In fact, based on our experience, it is actually easier and better for a mentor from another field to work with a mentee. The core focus of the mentoring relationship is on soft skills. When the mentor and mentee operate in the same sector, the relationship tends to veer toward hard skills instead, which falls outside the purview of the program. What’s more, the fact that both people work in different industries is extra reassurance that there won’t be a conflict of interest or competition concerns to overcome.

How can a mentor’s involvement help me hone my skills?

In concrete terms, a mentor will:

  • Listen and ask questions
  • Help you look at problems from another angle
  • Support you as you come up with possible solutions
  • Provide encouragement and motivation
  • Share critical insight
  • Give feedback on your performance and mindset.

Basically, a mentor is there to cultivate your existing entrepreneurial drive. As a mentee, you need to be open to learning new things and growing as a person and a business professional. Throughout the process you, and you alone, will be responsible for any actions you undertake and any decisions you make. Your role as a mentee is to:

  • Listen and ask questions
  • Help you look at problems from another angle
  • Support you as you come up with possible solutions 
  • Provide encouragement and motivation
  • Share critical insight
  • Give feedback on your performance and mindset. 

I already have plenty of critics – why do I need one more?

There is a difference between negative and constructive criticism. If the people criticizing you have an interest in your business, there is an inherent bias in what they have to say. Mentors, on the other hand, are impartial in their input, precisely because they have nothing at stake.

How can mentoring help my business?

By making you a better business owner! Réseau M is committed to giving you the tools to take your business to new heights. By focusing on YOU, we are convinced that you’ll have what you need to build on these skills and tap into your innate drive and determination to move forward with other business ventures as well.

Is my mentor bound by a confidentiality agreement, similar to a doctor-patient relationship?

Yes. Both you and your mentor are required to sign and abide by a code of ethics. What you say stays between the two of you and should not be shared with anyone else at any time.

Will my mentor need to speak to my colleagues and associates as well?

No. Your mentor is there for you and you alone. It is essential that what you say in your confidential meetings remains between the two of you.

How do I know that a mentor has what it takes to be an effective coach?

Good coaches and good mentors are similar in their desire to reach out to other people and help them develop their potential. But it’s important to realize that mentoring and coaching are not the same thing. Mentoring is mostly about transferring knowledge from one person to another by helping mentees find their own answers and listening to what they say – and what they don’t say. Coaching, in comparison, is more “instructional” in nature and is a service provided for a fee. Mentors help make you aware of what you are unconsciously doing (or not doing) and how that can affect your performance. Remember that mentors pick their mentees, and mentees do have a say in who their mentor is. That being said, you may not necessarily hit it off with the first mentor you are matched with. If so, you can ask for a new mentor.  Click here for more information on the difference between a mentor, a coach and a consultant.

Will my mentor have the same level of skills as I have?

Whether you’re starting, consolidating or growing your business, or laying the groundwork for new leadership to take over the reins, your mentor will have a suitable entrepreneurial background to support your endeavours.

Will my mentor have access to my business’s books?

Your meetings with your mentor shouldn’t be as bogged down with numbers as your meetings with your accountant or banker. However, once you have established the requisite trust, if you would like to “talk turkey” with your mentor, feel free to do so. But you are under no obligation to share any hard numbers with them if you do not wish to.

How effective is entrepreneur mentoring?

Several sources from around the world show that 70% of small and medium-sized business owners who have a mentor make it past the notorious five-year mark (double the success rate of non-mentored entrepreneurs).

https://www.theupsstore.com/about/pressroom/small-business-mentoring-month-2014#sthash.6XS8IVYO.dpuf
http://www.theguardian.com/media-network/media-network-blog/2013/jun/24/failing-fast-uk-startup-culture

How can I tell if the mentoring relationship is working the way it should?

Réseau M has established a qualitative assessment chart to measure mentorship outcomes. This chart is used to evaluate mentors’ contributions and determine how the mentor-mentee relationship is progressing. After the first three months (the “getting to know you” phase), an initial evaluation will be done. A second evaluation will follow at the six-month mark, once the relationship is firmly established.

Why are there program fees to pay when all of the mentors are volunteers?

The Fondation de l’entrepreneurship has been running a mentorship program for entrepreneurs since 2000. The program is carefully designed and structured, more so that any other initiatives of this nature. The corresponding fees include annual membership with Réseau M. This is a fixed rate and represents only a portion of the actual cost of providing access to one of our many high-calibre mentors. Most of these fees go to covering administrative expenses, mentor training, the development of content and best practices for Réseau M members, promotional initiatives, and errors and omissions insurance coverage for our mentors. By joining the mentorship program, mentees are entitled to attend several activities for free or at a reduced rate. Mentees may have additional annual fees to pay as well to support local points of service. Local budgets are used to cover concrete pairing-related expenses, ensure the program runs smoothly, answer your questions, promote the program at the regional level and so forth.

I would like to figure out if my business idea or venture has legs. Can a mentor help me do this?   

No. The Réseau M mentorship program does not get involved in the pre-startup phase. A business must already be up and running or, at the very least, at “day zero” of its operations.

Can my mentor challenge my business plan?

Let’s remember that mentorship lasts one or, in most cases, two years. So it’s only natural that mentors will get into the nitty-gritty of your day-to-day operations. As an entrepreneur, you may be having second thoughts about some of your actions and how to bring your business plan to fruition (as opposed to how to develop it in the first place). Mentors can help you frame these questions and find the answers you are looking for.

If mentors aren’t supposed to tell me what to do, what exactly do they contribute?

Your mentor won’t provide you with step-by-step instructions and show you the one and only way to move forward (at any rate, it would be a mistake to think there is only one right solution out there for any situation). Their role is to prompt you to think about what you’re doing – and, sometimes even more important, about what you’re failing to do. They will ask you a slew of questions, listen to your answers and queries, restructure your thoughts as appropriate and provide you with invaluable feedback. They will be attentive to both your verbal input and what you are saying “between the lines.”

I’m dealing with a specific problem with my business. Can I be paired with a mentor who is qualified to solve it for me?

That’s not the job of a mentor – that’s the job of a consultant. Mentors are people you can refer to over a period of several months, even several years, and their area of expertise is broad. They will ask you questions and help you analyze what you are doing. They will guide you as you determine your precise requirements and expectations when it comes to finding an expert who can accommodate your needs.

I’m working on my business venture and/or building my company on a part-time basis. Am I eligible for Réseau M mentorship?

Yes, it is possible, as long as your goal is to devote your full-time attention to your business somewhere down the road. Your mentor will even help you in this regard by getting you to consider what you are doing and not doing.

If I eventually come to the realization that mentoring is simply not for me, can I withdraw from the program?

If you wish to put an end to your mentor-mentee relationship because it is falling short of your expectations, Réseau M and the Fondation de l’entrepreneurship have a refund policy in place. For more details, click here.

My associate and I would like to take advantage of the services of a mentor. Can we have the same mentor and meet together, all three of us?

Mentorship is about establishing a one-on-one relationship, either through a mentor-mentee dyad or through a group where a mentor provides guidance to several mentees who are not associates or competitors. It is important that mentors not be forced into playing a mediation role or settling disputes between colleagues. It is in each associate’s best interests to have their own personal mentor so they can express themselves openly, free of scrutiny and judgment. And individual mentoring can even shed light on the underlying motivations of working with one or more business partners.

 

FAQ MENTORS

Does it cost anything to become a Réseau M mentor?

No, there are no membership dues for becoming a mentor, although some of the activities you may wish to attend, such as our annual symposium (Rendez-vous Réseau M), involve a registration fee. As a mentor, you are entitled to a special discount on any such events.

Who can be a mentor?

We concentrate on recruiting active and retired entrepreneurs (including solopreneurs) with five or more years of experience helming their own business. That said, the merits of every application we receive are carefully reviewed, in most cases by a team of mentors from the point of service indicated in the registration form. Main evaluation criteria include:

  • Entrepreneurial experience (5+ years)
  • Business management experience
  • Volunteer and mentor experience
  • Reputation (credibility, integrity, trustworthiness)
  • Motivation for becoming a mentor
  • Availability
  • Ability to listen, put yourself in someone else’s shoes and be open to their ideas (non-directive)
  • Ability to communicate in a clear, concise and articulate way
  • Personal values

Will I receive training and official accreditation?

After your application has been accepted by your local point of service, you will be invited to attend a mandatory Réseau M workshop (Introduction to Mentoring – Is Mentoring for Me?). Once you have passed this requirement, you will be officially recognized as a mentor. Other workshops and accreditation programs have also been set up to help you continue to tweak your skills as a mentor.

I’m already mentoring other entrepreneurs. What advantage is there to doing the same thing through Réseau M?

Réseau M is the Quebec government’s preferred partner for entrepreneur mentoring. Official mentorship accreditation from Réseau M carries with it a full range of advantages:

  • Skills development workshops, free of charge
  • Errors and omissions insurance specifically for mentors, free of charge
  • Association with a leading entrepreneur mentoring network, featuring a simple yet carefully structured framework designed to facilitate the mentoring process (code of values and ethics, privacy agreement, ombudsman, etc.)
  • Access to an extensive community of entrepreneur mentors so you can interact with your peers, learn from best practices and maximize your mentorship potential
  • Opportunity to build on your mentoring experience using a digital platform that lets you tap into the latest news from the Réseau M network, stay in touch with mentors and mentees, develop your skills on an ongoing basis and more!
  • Volunteer recognition program to honour mentors for their outstanding efforts and contributions.

How many hours am I expected to invest in the program a month? What would my total annual commitment work out to?

That’s up to you! Generally speaking, mentees meet with their mentor once a month for about an hour, although initially these meetings may be scheduled more frequently to help establish a rapport. The typical lifespan of a mentor-mentee dyad is one to two years, but there no set limit in place. As for the skills development workshops we offer, each one is about three hours long.

If you’d like to deepen your involvement, there are several other options available to you. You can become a chief mentor or workshop lecturer, for example, or you can sign up for a joint development committee to focus on a specific aspect of the network (e.g., promotion).

Saut au contenu

Foire aux questions sur le mentorat pour entrepreneurs

FAQ MENTORÉS

Qu’est-ce que le mentorat peut m’apporter en tant qu’entrepreneur?

Le mentor accompagne et motive et, tout en partageant sa propre expérience entrepreneuriale, amène notamment le mentoré à aiguiser :

  • Sa capacité de réflexion et d’analyse : voir à « 360 degrés » l’ensemble des impacts et enjeux d’une situation.
  • Son audace : évaluer et accepter des défis croissants et les risques raisonnables qui y sont liés, passer de l’idée à l’action, se faire confiance et repousser ses propres limites.
  • Son sens critique : faire preuve d’introspection.
  • Sa résilience : savoir rebondir après une situation difficile, et apprendre d’elle.
  • Sa gestion du stress : exprimer ses peurs et doutes ouvertement afin de ne pas se laisser paralyser par eux ni souffrir de la solitude.
  • Sa capacité à bien s’entourer : comprendre les requis et ressources complémentaires à sa position d’entrepreneur.

Est-ce que je vais profiter du réseau de contacts de mon mentor?

Non. Le réseautage d’affaires ne fait pas partie du mentorat prôné par le Réseau M, parce que ce type de réseautage peut créer une forme de reddition du mentor envers le mentoré sur la référence qui est faite ou proposée, et ainsi instaurer un conflit ou une apparence de conflit d’intérêts.

Est-ce que le mentor et le mentoré peuvent partager leurs listes de clients?

Non. Dans ce contexte, le mentor pourrait se mettre dans une situation  de conflit d’intérêts. La conduite du mentor et du mentoré est d’ailleurs régie par un code d’éthique afin de prévenir ce type de situation.

Pourquoi faire appel à un mentor si je n’ai pas de problèmes?  Si j’ai besoin de parler à quelqu’un, j’ai juste à aller voir un psychologue.

C’est lorsque cela va bien qu’il faut prendre le temps de s’améliorer.  Durant les périodes difficiles,  il est habituellement trop tard pour agir ou demander de l’aide et cette aide est alors souvent de nature consultative (experts divers).  Certes, vous pouvez parler à un psychologue, mais Réseau M vous offre, quant à lui, la possibilité d’échanger avec quelqu’un qui n’est pas un membre de votre famille, ni un employé, ni un sous-traitant, mais une personne bénévole, totalement objective ayant un parcours entrepreneurial et qui est « déjà passé par là » eavec qui vous pouvez parler de vos affaires (dans le sens propre du terme), dans le seul but d’être un meilleur entrepreneur.

Est-ce que le coût de l’accompagnement est éligible pour la formation (loi québécoise du 1 %)?

Non.  Le mentorat pour entrepreneurs demeure, avant tout, un partage d’informations et d’expériences. Il ne s’agit pas d’un cours privé, car le mentor n’enseigne pas, et ne suit pas un cursus préétabli. Il va s’adapter à VOUS et vos besoins spécifiques. Cela dit, le Réseau M organise régulièrement des activités pour les membres de sa communauté (sensibilisation, perfectionnement, etc.) qui peuvent, elles, être éligibles à cette loi.

Si mon mentor n’est pas du même domaine que moi,  comment pourrait-il m’aider dans mon travail?

Le mentor peut vous entendre et questionner sur ce que vous vivez en affaires, peu importe le secteur d’activité économique. De plus, l’expérience nous prouve qu’il est plus facile pour un mentor d’un autre domaine d’accompagner adéquatement un mentoré s’il n’est pas dans le même domaine d’affaires. La relation de mentorat porte sur le savoir-être, si le mentor et le mentoré sont du même secteur d’activité,  la relation aura tendance à bifurquer vers le savoir-faire.  Ce qui ne serait plus du mentorat. Qui plus est, pour nombre d’entrepreneurs, il s’agit aussi d’une garantie supplémentaire afin d’éviter les conflits d’intérêts ou problèmes potentiels de concurrence.

Comment l’accompagnement d’un mentor pourrait-il me rendre plus compétent?

De manière concrète, le mentor :

  • Écoute et questionne;
  • Aide à recadrer les problèmes vécus;
  • Accompagne pour mieux identifier les solutions possibles;
  • Encourage et motive;
  • Partage son sens critique;
  • Donne une rétroaction sur la performance et les attitudes.

Donc, vous devez être animé d’un besoin de vous réaliser en tant qu’entrepreneur. Le mentoré est une personne qui désire apprendre et se développer. En tout temps et en toute occasion, vous devez être le seul responsable de vos actes et de vos décisions.  Votre rôle consiste à :

  • Accepter librement d’être accompagné par un mentor dans le but d’améliorer votre savoir-être ;
  • Adopter une attitude positive face à la relation de mentorat ;
  • Agir selon l’éthique du programme de mentorat ;
  • Être transparent avec votre mentor.

J’ai assez de monde qui critique mon travail, pourquoi aurais-je besoin de quelqu’un d’autre?

Il y a des critiques négatives et des critiques constructives. Si les personnes qui vous critiquent ont en plus un intérêt quelconque, cela influencera le sens de la critique. Toutefois, si la personne n’a aucun intérêt et qu’elle émet une critique en toute objectivité, cela fait alors partie d’une saine pratique du mentorat.

Comment le mentorat va-t-il aider mon entreprise?

En devenant un meilleur entrepreneur, votre entreprise en bénéficie nécessairement. L’objectif du Réseau M, c’est de bien vous outiller pour votre entreprise actuelle mais, puisque nous misons sur VOUS, notre « pari » est que vous soyez aussi outillé pour toutes les entreprises que vous pourriez avoir l’audace de créer par la suite.

Est-ce que mon mentor signe une entente de confidentialité comme un docteur?

Oui.  Non seulement votre mentor signera un code d’éthique, mais vous aussi en tant que mentoré.  Les échanges entre un mentor et un mentoré n’appartiennent qu’à eux et ne peuvent en aucun temps être divulgués à une tierce partie.

Est-ce que mon mentor doit parler avec mon entourage?

Non. Le mentor est là pour vous uniquement.  Il vous accompagne et il est essentiel que le contenu des rencontres entre un mentor et un mentoré soit confidentiel.

Comment puis-je savoir si un mentor sera en mesure de me « coacher »?

Les bons coachs et les bons mentors aiment aider les autres à développer leurs potentiels. Par contre, il faut savoir que le mentorat n’est pas du coaching. Le mentorat implique surtout un transfert de connaissances d'une personne à une autre en l’accompagnant à trouver les réponses elle-même, en écoutant ce qu'elle dit et ce qu’elle ne dit pas. En ce qui a trait au coaching, habituellement, le coach sera directif et rémunéré. Un mentor vous éveille à voir ce que vous êtes en train de faire ou ne pas faire inconsciemment, et comment cela peut affecter vos résultats. N’oubliez pas que le mentor choisit son mentoré au même titre que ce dernier a son mot à dire sur son mentor. Sachant cela, il se peut qu’il n’y ait pas d’atomes crochus ou d’affinités avec un premier mentor qui vous aura été proposé. Dans cette situation, le mentoré peut demander à être jumelé à un nouveau mentor.  Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur la différence entre un mentor, un coach et même un consultant.

Est-ce que mon mentor sera du même niveau de compétence que moi?

Que vous soyez en démarrage, en consolidation, en croissance ou dans une planification de relève, le mentor qui vous sera proposé aura une expérience entrepreneuriale adéquate.

Est-ce que mon mentor aura accès aux chiffres de mon entreprise?

Votre relation de mentorat pour entrepreneurs ne doit pas devenir aussi lourde qu’une rencontre avec votre comptable ou votre banquier. Lorsque la relation de confiance est établie et que vous jugez opportun de parler de vos chiffres d’affaires avec votre mentor, cela vous appartient. Vous n’êtes nullement obligés de discuter de vos chiffres avec ce dernier.

Est-ce que le mentorat pour entrepreneurs est vraiment efficace?

Selon des sources internationales, 70 % des propriétaires de PME mentorés franchissent le fameux cap des cinq ans (deux fois plus que les entrepreneurs non accompagnés).

Sources:

https://www.theupsstore.com/about/pressroom/small-business-mentoring-month-2014#sthash.6XS8IVYO.dpuf

http://www.theguardian.com/media-network/media-network-blog/2013/jun/24/failing-fast-uk-startup-culture

Comment pouvons-nous savoir si l’accompagnement d’un mentor fonctionne?

Le Réseau M a mis en place une grille d’évaluation qualitative. Cette grille est proposée afin d’évaluer l’apport de l’accompagnement du mentor auprès du mentoré et de connaître comment ce dernier se réalise dans une relation de mentorat pour entrepreneurs. Après le premier trimestre d’accompagnement (phase d’apprivoisement et relation de confiance),  une première mesure qualitative de l’accompagnement sera faite. Après six mois (phase où la dyade est dans sa réalisation),  une seconde mesure qualitative de l’accompagnement sera également réalisée.

Étant donné que le mentor est un bénévole, pourquoi dois-je payer des frais?

Depuis l’an 2000, la Fondation de l’entrepreneurship propose un service de mentorat pour entrepreneurs, le Réseau M, le plus structuré et rigoureux qui soit. Ces frais sont composés d’abord d’une adhésion annuelle au Réseau M sur une base nationale. Ce tarif est forfaitaire et ne représente qu’une portion du coût réel afin d’avoir accès à l’un de nos nombreux mentors d’excellence. Ce montant sert en grande partie à couvrir les frais d’administration, de perfectionnement des mentors, de développement de contenus et pratiques d’excellences diffusés aux membres du réseau, de promotion nationale, et d’assurance erreurs et omissions pour les mentors. Par ailleurs, en adhérant au programme de mentorat, tous les mentorés sont invités à participer gratuitement à certaines activités ou à avoir droit à certains rabais, selon le cas. Dans un second temps, un mentoré peut avoir à payer des frais locaux aussi. Ce tarif, également forfaitaire et annuel, est destiné à soutenir les organismes locaux (organismes porteurs) qui concrètement, vont effectuer votre jumelage avec un mentor, s’assurer de la bonne marche de votre accompagnement et répondre à vos questions, faire la promotion locale du mentorat, etc.

J’aimerais valider mon idée d’affaires et mon projet d’entreprise.  Est-ce qu’un mentor peut m’aider?   

Non.  Malheureusement, le mentorat du Réseau M n’intervient pas à cette étape du prédémarrage. L’entreprise doit être démarrée ou, du moins, doit être au jour « 0 » de ses opérations.

Est-ce que mon mentor pourra « challenger » mon plan d’affaires ?

Il faut savoir que le mentorat est une relation de longue durée d’au moins une année, voire deux années pour la majorité des jumelages mentors – mentorés. La relation porte donc sur l’ensemble du quotidien d’un entrepreneur, alors que son entreprise est en activité. Il se peut que l’entrepreneur se questionne sur ses actions et sur l’exécution de son plan d’affaires (et non son élaboration). Le mentor peut alors accompagner l’entrepreneur dans ce questionnement.

Si le mentor ne me dira pas quoi faire, comment va-t-il procéder?

En effet, votre mentor ne peut être directif et vous dicter LA bonne marche à suivre (en effet, il serait erroné de penser qu’il n’y a qu’une seule bonne solution...). Il vous aidera à réfléchir sur ce que vous faites, et tout autant sur ce que vous ne faites pas. Il vous posera une foule de questions, vous écoutera, reformulera parfois vos propos et vous fera une rétroaction. Il sera à l’affut de votre non-verbal également, et du « sous-texte » de vos propos.

J’ai une problématique spécifique dans mon entreprise est-ce que je peux avoir un mentor capable de résoudre cette problématique?

Cela ne serait plus du mentorat, mais de la consultation. Le mentorat est une relation sur plusieurs mois, voire années, et il est un généraliste. Il vous posera les questions qui vous feront réfléchir sur ce que vous faites. Dans un pareil cas, il vous accompagnera à clairement identifier vos besoins et vos attentes pour le recrutement d’un expert.

Je travaille sur mon projet d’entreprise ou le développement de mon entreprise à temps partiel, est-ce possible pour moi d’être accompagné par un mentor du Réseau M?

 Il est possible d’avoir un mentor en autant que vous souhaitez développer votre entreprise afin de pouvoir vous y consacrer à temps plein. Il est certain que le mentor vous accompagnera dans cette démarche en vous amenant à réfléchir sur ce que vous êtes en train de faire et ne pas faire.

Si je constate que le mentorat n’est pas pour moi, est-ce possible d’annuler ma dyade?

Si vous souhaitez mettre fin à votre dyade parce que le mentorat ne convient pas à vos attentes, le Réseau M de la Fondation de l’entrepreneurship a mis en place une politique de remboursement.

Mon associé et moi  souhaiterions avoir un mentor, est-ce que nous pouvons avoir le même mentor et faire des rencontres à trois?

Le mentorat est avant tout une relation de personne à personne, soit dans une formule individuelle où le mentor fournit un accompagnement à un seul mentoré, soit dans une formule de groupe où le mentor agit en animateur accompagnateur à plusieurs mentorés qui ne sont pas associés dans la même entreprise ou dans un secteur concurrentiel. Il est nécessaire de ne pas mettre le mentor dans une situation de médiation ou d’avoir à trancher entre les associés. Il demeure que pour chacun des associés qu’il est vraiment avantageux d’avoir son propre mentor personnel.  Cela leur permet de  s’exprimer sans aucune contrainte, sans être jugés. Le mentorat individuel peut justement apporter une lumière sur les réelles motivations d’avoir un ou des partenaires d’affaires.

 

FAQ MENTORS

Y a-t-il des frais pour devenir mentors du Réseau M?

Non. Il n’y a aucun frais d’adhésion pour devenir mentor. Certains activités peuvent être payantes cela dit – telle le Rendez-vous Réseau M (colloque annuel). En tant que mentor, vous bénéficiez d’ailleurs de tarifs réduits pour de tels événements.

Qui peut être mentor?

Le Réseau M privilégie le recrutement d’entrepreneurs actifs et retraités (incluant les travailleurs autonomes), et ils doivent avoir au moins cinq ans d’expérience à la barre de leur entreprise.  Toute candidature est cependant évaluée à sa juste mesure après la réception de la demande d’adhésion (dans le cadre d’une rencontre avec le futur mentor). La candidature est évaluée en générale par une équipe de mentors (située au point de service sélectionné dans le formulaire d’adhésion). Les principaux critères d’évaluation d’une candidature sont :

  • Expérience entrepreneuriale et années (5 ans et plus)
  • Expérience en gestion d'entreprise
  • Expérience de bénévolat ou mentorat
  • Réputation (crédibilité, intégrité, inspire confiance)
  • Motivation à devenir mentor
  • Disponibilité
  • Capacité d'écoute, empathie, ouverture (non directif)
  • Capacité à communiquer (clair, articulé, esprit de synthèse)
  • Valeurs personnelles prônées

Suis-je formé et reconnu officiellement comme mentor?

Après avoir rempli le formulaire d’adhésion et que votre candidature ait été acceptée par votre point de service, tous les mentors du Réseau M doivent obligatoirement suivre un premier atelier de perfectionnement intitulé « Initiation au mentorat – Le mentorat du Réseau M, est-ce pour moi ? ». Les mentors sont officiellement accrédités après avoir suivi et réussi ce premier atelier de perfectionnement. D’autres ateliers et accréditations spécifiques ont été mis sur pied afin de soutenir le mentor dans son perfectionnement continu.


J’agis déjà à titre de mentor pour d’autres entrepreneurs. Que peut m’apporter le fait d’être mentor au sein du Réseau M?

Le Réseau M est le partenaire privilégié du gouvernement du Québec en matière de mentorat pour entrepreneurs. Être accrédité et reconnu officiellement comme mentor par le Réseau M représente une foule d’avantage, tels :

  • Avoir accès à des ateliers de perfectionnement, sans frais.
  • Une assurance erreurs et omissions spécifique au rôle de mentor, sans frais.
  • Faire partie de l’un des plus grands réseaux de mentorat pour entrepreneurs possédant un cadre simple mais rigoureux afin d’exercer en toute quiétude votre rôle de mentor (code de valeurs et d’éthique, entente de confidentialité, ombudsman, etc.).
  • Avoir accès à tout une communauté d’entrepreneurs mentors afin d’échanger avec vos pairs, avoir accès aux pratiques d’excellence et parfaire vos connaissances en matière de mentorat.
  • Pouvoir poursuivre votre expérience du mentorat sur une plateforme numérique afin de rester informés des nouveautés du réseau, de garder le contact avec les mentors et mentorés du Réseau M, et de poursuivre votre perfectionnement et bien plus.
  • Programme de reconnaissance soulignant votre implication à titre de mentor bénévole.

Combien d’heures dois-je donner par mois ou par année, à titre de mentor bénévole?

C’est vous qui décidez! Règle générale, une rencontre avec un mentoré dure une heure et elles ont lieu une fois par mois (au début, les rencontres peuvent être plus fréquentes afin de créer un climat de confiance avec votre mentoré). La durée d’une dyade (jumelage d’un mentor avec un mentoré) peut durer de une à deux années. Il n’y a pas de règles précises à cet égard. Les ateliers de perfectionnement durent habituellement trois heures.

En fonction du temps que vous souhaitez donner, vous pouvez aussi vous impliquer dans le réseau à différents niveaux (devenir chef mentor, devenir formateur auprès des autres mentors, participer à des comités de codéveloppement sur différents aspects du réseau tel sa promotion, etc.).